Biomass materials handling technology

Trough chain conveyance for fibrous biomass

  • Trough chain conveyors with bend station dispense with additional vertical conveyor
  • Conveyors effectively adapted to special requirements for conveyance of biomass
  • Practical wear-resistant protective equipment
Renewable raw materials are in high demand for biogas plants, ever since the legal conditions in this area have been improved. In addition to maize, which is traditionally processed in biogas systems, cereal grains, forage rye, and grass are also used. These co-ferments impose new requirements on the materials handling technology.

Zuther has responded to this development and has optimized its products for this area of implementation. The first trough chain conveyor systems with distribution points are already in use. The background here is the relatively low wear in the transport systems for long-fiber co-ferments, the significantly lower use of energy, and greater ease of maintenance than is offered by the traditionally used screw conveyors. Chain conveyors can be more easily adapted to the available system technology because angled conveyor paths can be implemented and thus construction of a pit for the feeding of an elevator becomes superfluous and fewer drives are required. At the same time a trough chain conveyor also satisfies the volume dosing requirement, combined with loosening of the biomass.

The experience that we have already acquired in this area, combined with the knowledge obtained through mineral conveyance has resulted in an adapted trough chain conveyor. Equipping the system with special wear-resistant components considerably extends the service file under the prevailing conditions, and these components can also be retrofitted.

Biomassenfördertechnik

Trogkettenförderung für faserhaltige Biomasse

  • wirksam angepasste Förderer für die speziellen Anforderungen der Biomassenförderung
  • praxisnahe Verschleißschutzausstattung
  • Trogkettenförderer mit Knickstation erlauben die Einsparung von zusätzlichen Vertikalförderern
Nachwachsende Rohstoffe sind als Energielieferanten für Biogasanlagen sehr gefragt, seit die gesetzlichen Bedingungen in dieser Richtung verbessert wurden. Neben Mais, der traditionell in Biogasanlagen verarbeitet wird, kommen häufiger Getreidekörner, Grünroggen und Gras zum Einsatz. Diese Ko-Fermente stellen an die Fördertechnik neue Anforderungen.

Die Firma Zuther hat auf diese Entwicklung reagiert und seine Produkte für dieses Einsatzgebiet optimiert. Die ersten Trogketten-Fördersystem mit Verteil-Weichen befinden sich bereits im Einsatz. Hintergrund ist hier der verhältnismäßig geringe Verschleiß in den Transportsystemen bei langfaserigen Ko-Fermenten, der wesentlich geringere Energieeinsatz und eine bessere Wartungsfreundlichkeit, als bei den traditionell eingesetzten Förderschnecken. Kettenförderer lassen sich leichter an die vorhandene Anlagentechnik anpassen, da abgewinkelte Förderwege realisierbar sind und somit der Bau einer Grube für die Aufgabe auf einen Elevator überflüssig wird und weniger Antriebe benötigt werden. Ein Trogkettenförderer erfüllt auch gleichzeitig die Anforderung der Volumendosierung, kombiniert mit einer Auflockerung der Biomasse.

Die Erfahrungen, die bereits in diesem Bereich gesammelt wurden, haben mit dem Wissen aus der Mineralstoff-Förderung zu einem angepassten Trogkettenförderer geführt. Eine Ausrüstung mit speziellen Verschleißkomponenten erhöht die Standzeiten bei den herrschenden Bedingungen erheblich und kann auch nachgerüstet werden.